January 26, 2020

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Wednesday, 11 September 2013 16:30

Exclusive: FIKM '13 Committee Receives 62 Entries

Rate this item
(2 votes)

The committee responsible for the organisation of the International Festival of Maltese Song would like to notify all the respective applicants and music enthusiasts that a total of sixty-two (62) entries were submitted for the first edition in eleven (11) years. On the 12th and 13th September, a panel of seven (7) judges from within the local music industry have been appointed to listen to the submissions and select the best thirty (30). A second panel of judges will listen to those thirty (30) entries either live or playback according to the reputation of the involved vocalist. From there on end, a total of fourteen (14) artists will be announced to take part in the competition.

Marc Calleja Bayliss, Editor-In-Chief of escflashmalta.com supervised the submission process as part of the open call for media issued by the committee in the past couple of days. Amongst the artists who have entered, there are a number of high profile individuals including none other than; Lawrence Gray, Mark Tonna, Deborah CJanvil, JessikaHooligan, Roger Tirazona, Danica Muscat, Romina Mamo, Domenique, Neville Refalo and last but not least, former Eurovision Song Contest representative; Miriam Christine. The turn-out is as expected and should the first edition upon return prove to be successful, more entries will be submitted in the coming years. The finalists for the International Festival of Maltese Song will be revealed on the programme Ma' Bundy on TVM on the 18th September 2013.

The organising committee is made up of Chairperson Mrs Josette Grech Hamilton, Deputy chairperson Mr Ignatius Farrugia, Executive Secretary Mr Robert Cefai, Public Relations Officer & Media Relations Mr Deo Grech, Festival Coordinator Mr Ray Falzon, Hospitality Coordinator Ms Simone Bugeja and Technical Coordinator Mr Pierre Cachia. Mr Norman Hamilton serves as the artistic consultant, Mr Anton Attard as the technical consultant on behalf of PBS and Maestro Sigmund Mifsud as the musical consultant. The International Festival of the Maltese Song is organised under the auspices of the Parliamentary Secretary for Culture and Local Councils, Hon. Dr. J. Herrera in collaboration with the World Association of Festival organisers and Artists. Stay tuned to escflashmalta.com for all of the latest news as soon as it becomes available.

Sources: escflashmalta, International Festival of Maltese Song


Last modified on Wednesday, 11 September 2013 16:44