October 18, 2019

Login to your account

Username *
Password *
Remember Me

Create an account

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required.
Name *
Username *
Password *
Verify password *
Email *
Verify email *
Captcha *
Reload Captcha
Thursday, 27 October 2016 05:57

MESC 2017: The Public Will Have a Major Say

Rate this item
(2 votes)

John Bundy, Chief Executive Officer of the Public Broadcasting Services, has recently given an interview to the local newspaper “Illum”, stating that ‘the song belongs to the people, and therefore the people will select it’ which in all likelihood means that the next edition of the Malta Eurovision Song Contest will be decided mostly through a public vote.

The rules and regulations, yet to be officially published but expected any day should highlight a different approach to Malta’s participation in the international spectacle, aiming to improve upon recent results.

In 2016, Ira Losco was under scrutiny on continous occasions, starting off with the change in song and then the participaion expenditure. That said, “Walk on Water” finished in a stunning 4th place with the juries, before tele-voting saw her fall down to 11th place, still very credible considering that Malta’s best result was an 8th place finish in 2013, achieved by Gianluca Bezzina and “Tomorrow”.

Previous artists who have represented Malta at the Eurovision Song Contest owing to a 100% public vote included: Chiara in 2005, Fabrizio Faniello in 2006, Olivia Lewis in 2007 and Chiara in 2009. That said, the jury and the public have agreed on several occasions, the most recent being with Ira Losco in 2016, and Amber in 2015. Malta would have had different winners in 2013, and 2014, as the winners of the Pubic Vote where Kevin Borg, and Jessika.

We urge you to stay tuned to escflashmalta.com even through Facebook and Twitter for all the latest news about the 2017 Malta Eurovision Song Contest as soon as it becomes available.

Source: Illum


Read 2955 times Last modified on Saturday, 24 November 2018 14:22

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.